1. Parenting
Send to a Friend via Email

Discuss in my forum

10 Popular Books for Teen Boys

Young Adult Books with Guy Appeal

By

Getting teen boys interested in books can be a challenge for parents. Fortunately, many young adult authors are now writing teen books that rank high in guy appeal. Here is a list of some of the most popular young adult books for teen boys. For popular teen books for teen boys, check below.

1. Malice

Cover of Malice by Chris Wooding recommended teen book for boys
Scholastic

The line between reality and fiction is blurred in this unique story by master storyteller Chris Wooding. Written as a combination of graphic novel and traditional print, readers can follow Seth and Kady into a comic book world ruled by the sinister, Tall Jake.  The big question for readers is: once you go into the comic book, can you ever come out? Recommended for ages 12-18.  (Scholastic Paperbacks, 2010. ISBN: 9780545160445)

Compare Prices

2. Leviathan

Cover of Leviathan by Scott Westerfeld a young adult book
PriceGrabber

Award winning author Scott Westerfeld creates an alternate reality of World War I in this biology versus technology tale.  Two teens that are supposed to be enemies, a girl disguised as a British airman, and a prince on the run, cross paths and find themselves sailing on the airship Leviathan. The black and white illustrations by Keith Thompson help readers visualize the alternate world. Recommended for ages 12-14.  (Simon Pulse, 2010. ISBN: 9781416971740)

 

Compare Prices

3. The Ruins of Gorlan (The Ranger’s Apprentice, Book One)

Cover of The Ruins of Gorlon a teen book popular with boys
PriceGrabber

Legions of readers are following the adventures of 15 year-old Will who battles fantastical beasts and evil warlords trying to take over the kingdom. Author John Flanagan continues to entertain his fans with this long running series of the adventures of a shy boy who becomes a hero.  Recommended for ages 12-14. (Philomel Books, 2005. ISBN: 9780399244544)

Compare Prices

4. I Am Number Four

Cover art for I am Number Four young adult book
PriceGrabber

Action and adventure are non-stop in this science fiction novel.  Nine teens from the planet Lorien come to Earth to train and develop their powers in order to take back their planet from the destructive Morgadorians.  Teens who want a quick read that’s exciting and easy to follow will enjoy reading this first book in what is sure to be a popular series. (HarperCollins, 2010. ISBN: 9780061969553)  Read the review of I Am Number Four.

Compare Prices

5. Gone

Cover art for Gone a teen book
PriceGrabber

Everyone over fifteen is disappearing in Sam’s town and the ones left behind are turning to him for help. In this story, teens must unite and find a way to rule themselves while preparing to battle supernatural elements. Teens will enjoy this story of reluctant heroes, rivalry, and revenge by Michael Grant. Recommended for ages 14-18.  (Kathrine Tegen Books, 2009. ISBN: 9780061448782)

Compare Prices

6. Pluto

Cover art for Pluto a teen book
PriceGrabber

Well-known manga artist Naoiki Urasawra has created a dark retelling of the popular comic “AstroBoy-The Greatest Robot on Earth” originally written by Osmau Tezuka.  In this science fiction story about man and machine, Detective Gesicht must solve several robot murders. The American Library Association ranked Pluto as one of the top ten teen graphic novels for 2010. Recommended for ages 14-18.  (Viz, 2009. ISBN: 978142159180)

Compare Prices

7. The Enemy

Cover art for The Enemy a teen book by Charlie Higson
PriceGrabber

Buckingham Palace becomes a refuge for kids fleeing zombie infested London.  In yet another fast paced futuristic thriller, readers are caught up in the action and intensity of teens trying to survive as a horrible disease sweeps across England.  Author Charlie Higson, well-known British actor and comedienne, is also the writer of the highly successful Young Bond series. Recommended for ages 14-18 (Hyperion, 2010. ISBN: 9781423131755)

Compare Prices

8. Revolver

Cover art for Revolver a teen book by Marcus Sedgwick
PriceGrabber

“Even the dead tell stories.” In the tradition of Jack London and Gary Paulsen is a new book by Marcus Sedgwick set amidst the gold and greed of the Alaskan gold rush.  Sig is alone and isolated in the Arctic with his father’s frozen corpse when a stranger comes to the cabin demanding his share of some stolen gold; Sig’s only protection is a revolver. Written in short chapters and wrapping up in 203 pages, Revolver has just the right elements to satisfy a teen reader. Recommended for ages 12-18.  (Roaring Book, 2010. ISBN: ISBN: 9781596435926)

Compare Prices

9. Ship Breaker

Cover art for Ship Breaker award-winning young adult book
PriceGrabber

This novel portrays a futuristic world destroyed by global warming. Nailer, a 17 year old ship breaker, must scavenge among ancient oil tankers looking for copper and other treasures to sell. Author Paolo Bacigalupi has created an award winning novel that invites teens to explore environmental issues, and to think about how their choices today can affect future generations.  (Little, Brown & Co, 2010. ISBN: 9780316056212)  Read the review of Ship Breaker.

Compare Prices

10. The Maze Runner

Cover art for The Maze Runner a young adult book by James Dashner
PriceGrabber

If your teen liked The Hunger Games, then he’s bound to like The Maze Runner  by James Dashner. In this sci-fi thriller,  a group of teen boys who don’t remember their past are locked together in a maze with nightmarish creatures.  Hope is nearly lost until the arrival of a comatose girl bearing an alarming message. Will the teens escape the maze? Dashner keeps readers running until the last page. Recommended for ages 14-18.  (Delacore Press, 2009. ISBN: 9780385907026)

Compare Prices

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.