1. Parenting
You can opt-out at any time. Please refer to our privacy policy for contact information.

Discuss in my forum

The 2013 John Newbery Medal Winner

...and Honor Books


Cover of The One and Only Ivan
Since 1922, the American Library Association (ALA) has been honoring outstanding children's books with the John Newbery Medal, the first children's book award in the United States. On January 28, 2013, the Association for Library Service to Children (ALSC), which is a division of ALA, announced the winner of the 2013 John Newbery Medal for children's literature and three 2013 Newbery Honor Books.

The 2013 Medal Winner

Katherine Applegate is the winner of the 2013 John Newbery Medal for her middle grade novel The One and Only Ivan.
(HarperCollins Children's Books, a division of HarperCollins Publishers, 2012. ISBN: 9780061992254)
Compare prices.

The One and Only Ivan is a most unusual book, one that can be enjoyed on several levels, making it suitable for quite a wide age range. The publisher recommends this animal fantasy for ages 8 to 12, but I think it will appeal to young teens, as well, because the title character, Ivan, and the life he leads as one of several animals on display at a mall and video arcade, can't help but capture the reader's imagination.

2013 Newbery Honor Books

  • Splendors and Glooms by Laura Amy Schlitz
    (Candlewick Press, 2012. ISBN: 9780763653804)
    Compare prices.

    Splendors and Glooms is a dramatic fantasy featuring a deceitful puppet master, two orphans, a witch and a lonely rich girl in a Victorian setting. For an overview of the book and information about the author, read the book review of Splendors and Glooms.

  • Bomb: The Race to Build—and Steal—the World’s Most Dangerous Weapon by Steve Sheinkin
    Bomb has the distinction of being the only nonfiction book for young people to receives 2013 Newbery honors. Other recognition for the book and its author include the 2013 Robert F. Sibert Informational Book Award and the 2013 YALSA Award for Excellence in Nonfiction for Young Adults. Read librarian Jennifer Kendall's book review of Bomb: The Race to Build—and Steal—the World’s Most Dangerous Weapon and find out why she recommends the book for ages 10-18.
    (Flash Point, an imprint of Roaring Brook Press, 2012. ISBN: 9781596434875)
    Compare prices.

  • Three Times Lucky by Sheila Turnage
    (Dial Books for Young Readers, a division of Penguin Young Readers Group, 2012. ISBN: 9780803736702)
    Compare prices.

    Three Times Lucky is full of interesting characters, humor, mystery and wisdom in this story of Miss Moses LoBeau, who, during a hurricane 11 years ago, was washed ashore in Tupelo Landing, North Carolina. The publisher recommends the book for age 10 and older.

Other Recommended Newbery Winners

If you check out the ALA list of Newbery Medal Winners and Honor Books, you will find many excellent books. These include such recent winners as Dead End in Norvelt by Jack Gantos, Moon Over Manifest by Clare Vanderpool and When You Reach Me by Rebecca Stead, the 2012, 2011 and 2010 Newbery Medal winners respectively. A number of the books on the list have become classics, such as A Wrinkle in Time by Madeleine L'Engle, the 1963 Newbery Medal winner. In fact, in 2012, Farrar Straus and Giroux published the 50th Anniversary Commemorative Edition of A Wrinkle in Time, as well as an adaptation, A Wrinkle in Time: The Graphic Novel.

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.