1. Parenting
Send to a Friend via Email

Your suggestion is on its way!

An email with a link to:


was emailed to:

Thanks for sharing About.com with others!

Discuss in my forum

The Theodor Seuss Geisel Award for Beginning Reader Books

Winners Delight Beginning Readers


Since 2006, the Theodor Seuss Geisel Award has been awarded annually "to the author(s) and illustrator(s) of the most distinguished contribution to the body of American children’s literature known as beginning reader books published in the United States during the preceding year." (ALA/ALSC Award site). Each annual Theodor Seuss Geisel Award is administered by a committee appointed by the president of the Association for Library Service to Children (ALSC), a division of the American Library Association (ALA). Author(s) and illustrator(s) who are citizens or residents of the United States are eligible for the award.

The award is named after Theodor Geisel, known to generations of children and their families as Dr. Seuss.

    “A person’s a person no matter how small," Theodor Geisel, a.k.a. Dr. Seuss, would say. 'Children want the same things we want: to laugh, to be challenged, to be entertained and delighted.' Brilliant, playful, and always respectful of children, Dr. Seuss charmed his way into the consciousness of four generations of youngsters and parents. In the process, he helped them to read.” (ALA/ALSC Award site)

The Theodor Seuss Geisel Award Winners

If your child is ready for beginning readers, the books honored through the Theodor Seuss Geisel Award provide an excellent resource. These enjoyable beginning reader books, at the appropriate reading level for a beginning reader, will provide a gentle introduction to the joys of independent reading.

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.