1. Parenting

U.S. State Awards

Learn about the children's books chosen by the school children of each state to win the official state award for children's literature.

A Look at State Children's Choice Book Awards
Learn about how children's books are selected for children's choice state awards and who benefits from the state awards programs.

The Pacific Northwest Library Association's Young Readers Award includes: Alaska, Alberta, British Columbia, Idaho, Montana and Washington.

Arizona Young Readers' Award
Learn all about the award, the previous winners, and the nominees.

California Young Reader Medal
Learn all about the California Young Reader Medal, including the winners in the following categories: Primary, Intermediate, Middle School/Junior High, Young Adult Books and Picture Books for Older Readers.

Students in Grades 3-8 will select the Sunshine State Young Readers' Award winners from this reading list.

Past winners of Hawaii's Nene Award, this year's suggested reading list, and a history of the award whose winners are chosen by elementary and middle school students can be found on the R.E.A.D. (Read Enjoy Analyze Discuss) for NENE site.

Idaho is one of the states included in the Pacific Northwest Library Association's Young Readers Award, which is the oldest children's choice award in the United States and Canada. It also includes: Alaska, Montana, Washington, Alberta, and British Columbia.

The Rebecca Caudill Young Readers' Book Award is given to the author of the children's book that grade 4-8 students in participating schools have voted the most outstanding and the official Web site provides detailed information.

The Iowa Association of School Librarians Awards site provides information about the four awards it sponsors: the Goldfinch Award (books for grades K-2), the Iowa Children's Choice Award for readers in grades 3-6, the Iowa Teen Award for readers in grades 6-9 and the Iowa High School Book Award for readers in grades 9-12.

Information about the William Allen White Award winners since 1953.

The Maine Student Book Award site includes past and present booklists plus an annotated list of books to be judged by students in grades 4-8..

Maryland - Black-Eyed Susan Book Award
Information about the Black-Eyed Susan Book Award in Maryland, including lists of the winners, is provided by the Maryland Association of School Librarians.

Montana is part of the Pacific Northwest Library Association's Young Readers Award. Alaska, Alberta, British Columbia, Idaho, and Washington are also participants in this award.

List of Treasure State Award winners for the past several years, selected by the children of Montana.

Learn about the current winners in the Grades K-2, Grades 3-5, and Grades 6-8 categories of the Buckeye Children's Book Award.

Utah Children's Book Award winners, past and present, from the Children's Literature Association of Utah (CLAU).

The state of Washington is a participant in the Pacific Northwest Library Association's Young Readers Award that also includes includes Alaska, Idaho, and Montana, as well as Alberta and British Columbia, Canada.

You can opt-out at any time. Please refer to our privacy policy for contact information.

Discuss in my forum

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.